Busy Weekend but Had The Best Time!

My weekend my have started and ended at a pub but a whole lot more happened between that! I was planning on going to Southampton Friday night for the nightlife (which is supposed to be really good) but the plans changed to staying on campus and going to the club The Vault at the student union only to change again to just going into town to the pub Alfies. It was still a blast!

There was a pretty big group of us out that and about half the British students I was out with studying abroad at Eau Claire last semester. After the bar closed, some of us went back to one of their flats to hangout for a bit before calling it a night.When I got back to my room I was exhausted but had to wake up bright and early because Katie and I were meeting some other girls from our program to head to Southampton for sightseeing.

My first time on the train was so much fun! It was not at all what I expected–I was thinking more a subway. The ride was so smooth and the view was great! Once we arrived about 15 mins later, the first thing we did was go to the SeaCity Museum for the Titanic Museum. It was such a great experience! I learned so much about that ship and the whole event. The Titanic departed from the Ocean Dock in Southampton and almost all the 897 crew members lived in Southampton. The museum brought you though all the history of the crew members, Southampton, what was on the ship and it even should little examples of the rooms as well as one big room. My favorite was seeing all the artifacts recovered from the ship. At the end of the museum it talked more about what happened after the crash and had newspapers examples. Then there was an audio of interviews of what happened and if it could have been prevented.

DSC00367

After the museum we walked along the stone wall to go see the port. But since it’s still being used today we only saw it from the next port over. We ended the day with the Navy Marine Memorial and then walking along the main street of shopping to get back to the train station. We never made it to the mall but I plan on going back for that another day!

Sunday was my one of multiple day trips to London! We left Winchester at 8:00 am and didn’t get back until 7:30. Read more about the awesome trip here! Once we got back we were so hungry walked all the way down the hill to a food place on campus to see it’s closed. Then walked all the way back up the hill to the closest pub for dinner. All in all I would say this weekend was a success!