My Hearts In London

The bus ride from Winchester to London was extremely long and felt like forever! DSC00436Almost everyone on it was sleeping but I just couldn’t fall asleep knowing I would soon be seeing the city I have dreamed of seeing as long as I can remember! Once we got there the bus driver who was also our tour guide drove around finding a place to park for awhile and the whole time all I couldn’t think about was going to explore. We had a walking tour for about 2 hours which was so nice to be shown were the big things are. We walked to the Westminster Abbey Church which has had a total of 16 royal weddings including Prince William and Kate Middleton.

The tour then went through the park and up to Buckingham Palace and right as we got there we saw part of the Changing of the Guards Ceremony. And then after that we went to the Trafalgar Square. Along the walk I saw Big Ben countless times and took about 50 pictures of that alone! We also walked past Her Majesty’s Theatre and tons of gorgeous buildings that I’m sure our tour guide mentioned but I was in such a daze I kept zoning in and out of what he was saying. 

After the walking tour was done we had 5 hours of free time before heading back to Winchester. There was probably 25-30 people on this tour and my friends and I (a group of 10) split off to figure out where to go. Since it was noon and we were all hungry, food sounded like a good place to start. Half of us went to this place called St. James Tavern and the other half went to McDonalds across the street. I went to the Tavern and the food was great! After eating we realized we all wanted to go to King’s Cross to get our Platform 9 3/4 picture like Harry Potter but then from there half wanted to head towards Abbey Road while the rest of us wanted to go on the London Eye. That is where we split up!

The subway to King’s Cross wasn’t bad at all and we found our way around easily. There was a line to get your picture taken but not as long as I thought and it moved along pretty fast! After my picture I went to the gift shop to see what they had and saw a mug I loved that said Platform 9 3/4 on it, I also got two postcards from there. Riding the subway back to central London was a lot more crammed than the way there but not bad.

Next stop was the London Eye. For those who don’t know of it, it’s like a giant ferris wheel that has 32 “rooms” or spots people go in to go up and each one of those hoDSC00440lds about 15-25 people. I was expecting an hour long wait and I thought you were up there for an hour as well as. Thats not true haha. The wait was 10 mins and we were up there for 30 mins and it went by so fast! I wish I could have stayed up there longer because seeing the city from that view was gorgeous! I would love to go again to see it all from nighttime-with all the lights, the view is supposedly amazing!

There is still so much I want to see in London and with how close I am I know I’ll be back there again. The day still doesn’t seem real and I feel like I just dreamt the whole thing. London is such a magical place and it’s everything I hoped for but not at all what I expected and I mean that in the best way possible!

One thought on “My Hearts In London

Comments are closed.